Chicken Française

It’s time for lunch and I’m feeling a little energized so I thought I’d try a new dish. To be honest, I’ve thought about making this for a few days now. On our weekly grocery shopping trip, I picked up the few things I didn’t have at home in hopes I’d feel up to it sooner than later. I’m in luck. That day is today. This dish isn’t too difficult and it lets me take out some aggression on the chicken. Cooking is always more fun when you can release some stress too! And as always, this is gluten free and family approved.

 GF Chicken Francaise

Gluten Free Chicken Française

 

Ingredients

1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

4 Chicken Breasts (boneless skinless; pounded to 1/4-inch and cut in half)

2 Eggs plus 2 tablespoons Water (whisked)

1 cup Chicken Stock

3 tbs Butter

1 Lemon (zest and juice)

6 tablespoons Parsley (roughly chopped)

3 tbs Butter

2 Garlic cloves (diced)

Gluten Free Flour for dredging (I used Gluten Free Bisquick)

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

Directions

Heat the oil in a large sauté pan over medium-high heat.

Season the flour with a generous amount of salt and pepper and whisk together in a baking dish.

Lightly coat the chicken breasts in the seasoned flour and then dip in the egg wash.

Gently place in the hot oil and fry for 2 minutes or until golden brown. Flip the breast and fry for another 2 minutes until golden. Remove chicken from the pan.

Add the garlic to the pan and cook for about 20 seconds. Deglaze with ½ cup chicken broth, scraping up brown bits with a wooden spoon. Stir in the remaining broth and lemon juice and allow to reduce for 1 to 2 minutes.

Add the lemon zest, parsley and butter and swirl to emulsify.

Plate the chicken with the sauce and serve.

 

(Side Note: This post was inspired by The Daily Post)

**Listening to Santana (while cooking and posting)**

Comments
8 Responses to “Chicken Française”
  1. Hi Shay, I’m always interested in your recipes. This one seems particularly easy and I like that. It also sounds pretty tasty with the lemon juice and zest added, along with the parsley and garlic. I just had a couple of questions. I always dip in egg first and then the flour. I suppose it just creates a different crusty topping for the chicken. And can you really cook chicken breasts in just 2 min. per side? When you said “taking out your stress,” I pictured you pounding on something. Well, I fix an Italian version of this dish and I get out my meat hammer ( I love it!) and pound the breasts down to 1/2-inch thick. This is the best part of that recipe! Stress-freeing, yay!

    Okay, sounds good, like the sauce, but just those two questions. (I also know you put out recipes on your blog when you are stressed out — so hope you’re doing better now???)

    Love, Dana

    • Hey Dana,
      I love that you’ve taken such an interest in my recipes. And, yes you’re right I usually put up recipes when something’s going on. It was a very tough weekend, Sunday especially. This wasn’t my usual case of physically not feeling well so much as it was so I could just get my mind off of certain things. Thank you for asking.
      Now for your questions. I could be completely off base on this because I have no “culinary” training. I’m self taught so, if I’m wrong I apologize.
      Every time that I’ve made “fried” chicken in the past I’d always dip the chicken in egg or milk before the flour. It was tasty but it never held very long. My logic here was that the egg wash would keep the chicken crispier longer if it was on the outside. This was important because I didn’t know what time hubby would be home for lunch or if it would end up being his dinner. I also found that by doing the egg wash last the coating adhered to the the chicken better than the other way around.
      Yes, it took no more than a total of 4 minutes for each piece of chicken to cook all the way through and still be juicy. My pan was smaller than I would have liked so I could only cook 2 pieces (1 full breast) at a time. I did this 4 times and was done with the chicken in about 15 minutes. I contribute that to the chicken being pounded so thin and them having a little extra room to swim. I would assume that anyone trying this dish would know not to crowd the pan, right?
      Anyways, I unfortunately don’t have a meat hammer so I had to take it old school but yes, plenty of pounding going on. 😉 I love how a woman can pound on food in the kitchen no problems but, if she does the same on something else, say a wall, then something’s seriously wrong. LOL. C’est la vie 😉
      If you do make this let me know how it goes? I always love feedback, especially on recipes!

      • That makes perfect sense about dipping the pounded-upon-greatly chicken breasts into the flour first. I will definitely try that! It’s funny you mentioned about being only able to put 2 pieces a time in the skillet. The recipe I have recommends you don’t serve this for a large crowd since the cooking is so time-intensive! And in my recipe, they top the chicken with greens and squeeze orange juice on all of it. Well I don’t eat salad greens anymore – can’t, but I’ve been trying to figure out what could substitute. Maybe some cooked asparagus (roasted) cut in small pieces? For adults. For children, just throw some gummy bears on top of it – bound to eat it! Hahaha! I’ll let you know when I try it out. Thanks, Shay. And whatever’s bothering you? – I hope it resolves soon. It doesn’t sound fun either way.
        Dana

      • Wow, your recipe sounds a lot more labor intensive than what I’d be willing to do. It sounds tasty though. Funny you should mention asparagus! I was just asking him last night if he liked them. LOL. I don’t see why asparagus couldn’t be substituted or maybe green beans. My body isn’t a big fan of whole vegetables unfortunately but when they’re cut it’s not so bad. Hence, why there’s french cut green beans to go with the chicken. HeeHee. I just realized what I did! French cut beans to accompany the French style chicken. LOL.
        Anyways, gummy bears, that’s funny! Thankfully, I never had that problem. Both my boys like their veggies. And I made a rule a long time ago that they have to try whatever at least once. If they don’t like it, fine, but at least that can’t tell me they don’t like something before giving it a chance. It’s amazing how many things they ended up loving just because of that rule.
        Thank you Dana. It’s for the most part resolved. Long and short of it is I’m just under a lot of stress from a bunch of different angles. Trying to stay afloat, so to speak, in my head.
        Thanks again. TTFN ~Shay

  2. Wow this looks great! Ellie

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Gluten Free Chicken Française | asizCreatives […]



Scarecrow can't do ALL the thinking...

  • RSS Feed
