Hash Browns

After weeks of eating instant and frozen mashed potatoes to calm my craving, I finally had the energy to cook actual fresh potatoes. As you know, my energy levels fluctuate. So as not to overdo it and thereby be too exhausted to eat my creation, I decided to go with something fairly easy to prepare.

Gluten Free Hash Browns

 

Ingredients

2 tbs Extra-Virgin Olive Oil

1 medium Onion, chopped

6 slices Salami, chopped (I’d normally use bacon but, we’re out)

2 lbs Yellow Fleshed Potatoes, peeled and cubed into ½ inch pieces (Russet Potatoes would have been easier because I wouldn’t have to peel them but, we didn’t have any.)

2 cloves Garlic, minced

Salt and Ground Black Pepper

Dried Chives to garnish

 

Directions

In a large frying pan, add the oil, onions, and salami and sauté on medium-high heat until onions are soft and salami is somewhat crispy (like bacon!).

Turn heat down to medium and add garlic and potatoes.

Sprinkle potatoes with salt and pepper to taste. 

 

Stir occasionally until the potatoes are cooked to your preferred softness or crunchiness, covering the pan with a lid for the last 15 minutes. (I cooked mine for about 30 minutes total.)

 

Remove from heat and garnish with chives.

 

 

I’ve never actually cooked hash browns but, it turned out to be a resounding success. My little one, who has become a picky eater lately, enjoyed it, even asking for seconds! I think the sweetness the onions gave was the clincher even though, according to him, he hates onions. The hubby liked the hash browns as well. This will be one more dish I add to my growing collection of go-to gluten free and family approved recipes.

Scarecrow can't do ALL the thinking...

  • RSS Feed
